Last updated on March 9, 2021
WhatsApp introduces a new function that automatically deletes your messages after a certain time. The feature is not yet active, but WhatsApp has already explained in detail how it works and what you have to pay attention to.
WhatsApp explains expiring messages
WhatsApp is about to introduce self-erasing messages. The new function has been in the rumor mill for several months and will be implemented soon. The new feature is already described in the WhatsApp FAQ . Accordingly, one can activate "running messages" in a chat. From this point on, all new messages are automatically deleted after 7 days. If you haven't read the news by then, it's gone forever. But there are three exceptions where messages are still visible after the 7 days:
- Quoted messages can still be read after the 7 days, as they trigger a period of 7 days as new messages until they are deleted.
- If a message is forwarded to another contact and no expiring messages are activated there, the message will still be visible there and will not be deleted.
- If the messages are backed up before the 7 days have elapsed, the message will still be saved there. However, it will be deleted as soon as the backup is imported again.
WhatsApp also states that you can of course save expiring messages differently. The messages can be copied manually, a screenshot can be taken and the mobile phone can be photographed. So you shouldn't rely too much on the feature when sending really important messages.
WhatsApp tips you need to know:
What about photos, videos and the like that are sent via WhatsApp?
Media such as photos, videos and other files that are sent via WhatsApp end up on the smartphone's memory and are not deleted after the 7 days have expired. They disappear in WhatsApp's chat, but are still stored locally on the mobile phone. You should keep this in mind when sending photos and videos.
Read the original article here.