Press "Enter" to skip to content

How to empty the trash in Gmail

QUICK ANSWER

To empty the trash in Gmail, go to the Trash folder. At the top is a box that says Empty Trash now. Select that and watch your trash bin empty, and your storage space coming back. Or alternatively, Gmail will automatically delete all emails that have been in the trash for more than 30 days.

How to empty the trash in Gmail

Go to your Trash folder, the link of which is located in the left-hand column of email folders. Note, you may have to click the More/Less link to see the Trash folder.

At the top, you’ll see a blue Empty Trash now. Click that and you’ll see the following prompt.

Click OK and the Trash will be deleted. Note that once it’s gone, it’s gone forever. So be absolutely sure before clicking that OK button. Now gaze in wonder at your empty Trash can and more storage space.

No. Once you delete the Gmail trash, the emails are gone forever. But if you’re downloading your emails to an email client such as Outlook using POP, then after deleting those emails from your computer, you could theoretically get them back using a tool such as Recuva. But from the web version of Gmail? No, deletion is permanent.

Does Gmail automatically delete the trash?

Gmail will automatically delete all emails that have been in the trash for more than 30 days.

Source

Just came in:  While Verizon & AT&T Roll Out C-Band, T-Mobile Is Rolling Out 5G Carrier Aggregation For Faster Speeds