Press "Enter" to skip to content

How To Start Sharing Google One With Your Family


You may not be aware of this, but Google does allow you to share some of its services with other family members, and Google One is one of those services. This means that you can share your storage with family members – and also share the cost. Which makes Google ditching unlimited Photos storage a bit easier to bear.

Remember, there is no more zero-rated storage available from Google now. Everything that you save within Google now counts towards your quota. That includes emails, documents in Google Drive, and your photos. Of course, the biggest catalyst to using up all your space is going to be photos. As most Google Docs are only a few kilobytes or less. And the same thing goes for Emails, unless there are some large attachments included there. Which means that more and more people are going to be signing up for Google One and getting some more storage, since Google only gives you 15GB for free.

We’re going to show you how you can start sharing your Google One with your family, and also how you can stop sharing.

How To Start Sharing Google One With Your Family

First up, you’re going to need to set up a family group. Now if you already use family sharing for YouTube Premium, YouTube Music, or YouTube TV, you will already have a group created. So you can skip this portion.

Setting up a family group

Open up the Google Play app.

Now tap on your profile icon in the upper-right hand corner.

Just came in:  Google Sued For Alleged Violation Of ‘Don’t Be Evil’ Policy

Tap on Settings.

Then tap on Family.

Next, tap on “Manage Family Members”.

Now, you’ll want to tap on “Invite Family Members”, then enter in those members and hit send.

Now your family group is created.

Share with your family

Now you can start sharing Google One with your family.

Open the Google One app.

Head to the Settings portion of the app.

Then tap on Manage Family Settings.

Turn on “Share Google One with your family”. You will confirm on the next screen by tapping on “Share”.

Now you can tap on “Manage Family Group”, and then on “Invite Family Members” to add some family members that weren’t already in your group.

Finally, follow the instructions on the screen to complete the setup process.

And that’s just how easy it is to share Google One with your family members.

Note: You can share Google One with up to five other people. That means six people total can share storage.

How To Stop Sharing Google One With Your Family

It’s pretty simple to turn off family sharing for Google One.

Open the Google One app.

Head to the settings.

Then tap on “Manage Family settings”.

Turn off the toggle next to “Share Google one with your family”.

And that’s it. It’s just that easy to turn off sharing with your family.

How to check storage usage by family member

If you’re paying for storage, and you think someone else is using it all, you can easily check and see who is using the most storage. Similar to how you can check to see what line uses the most data on your cell phone plan.

Just came in:  Ulefone Power Armor 13 Toolbox Tested Outdoors: Video

Open the Google One app.

Then tap on Storage.

Next, go to “Family Storage” and tap on the down arrow.

Here you will be able to see who is using the most storage on your plan.

If you’re starting to run out of storage space, it might be a good idea to ask some if they can clear up some storage. Which we’ve outlined how to do that here.

What plans can be shared with my family?

Any paid Google One storage plan can be shared with your family. Whether that is the $1.99/month 100GB plan, or the $149/month 30TB plan, they can all be shared with your family. A good option to start would be the 200GB for $2.99/month or the 2TB for $9.99/month. As the 100GB plan might be too small if you are sharing with two or three other people (or more). As that would really only leave about 25-33GB per person, if everyone shared equally.

It’s good to see that Google is not limiting which plans can be shared with your family members. Many might think that this would only work on the 2TB and up plans. But that is not the case, thankfully. However, with the 2TB plan, you do get 10% back in store credit when you purchase from the Google Store. Which is nice to see. Especially if you are a Pixel or Nest user.

What information will my family members see once I add them to my group?

Some of you might be worried about what information your family members can see once you add them to your family group. Maybe they can see some private things you don’t want them to see. Well, don’t worry, they can’t.

Just came in:  Bus Simulator 21: We should really pay bus drivers more

Family members  will only see your name, photo and email address. Likely all things they already know and see. They will also be able to see how much storage you and others in the group are using.

Don’t worry, they cannot see your photos, videos and anything else in your storage. They are not even able to see what is using the most storage, whether that is Google Photos, Drive or Gmail. They will only see photos, videos and other files if you directly share these items with them.

The post How To Start Sharing Google One With Your Family appeared first on Android Headlines.

Source